Central America Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  4.0
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  4.3
 Service & Staff  4.1
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.1

"Great place, totally worth it."

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Kees H. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   December 2, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place was amazing, the people there are friendly and helpful. The landscape was amazing, lots of pretty insects and animals to look at and takes pictures of. They have a nice waterfall you can hike to. Awesome pool with slide and very clean. Ropes course up in the trees.. The kitchen was awesome, great food.. Overall probably one of my favorite spots I have traveled to!
The owner of the Hotel and his staff are very knowledgeable in the tourist attractions around the hotel so you dont get board. Oh man and the view...the view from the hotel rooms are all out of this world, you can see the entire City of San Jose lit up at night!

Room Tip: They were building a few "Tree House Cabins" im sure those rooms are super cool to stay in.

"Beautiful scenery"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Rachel M. of Orlando, United States
Reviewed:   August 22, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My second stay at this hotel. The setting shows the true beauty of Costa Rica. Staff is friendly and prices are great. Have not been able to receive transportation to or from airport though. I had to take a taxi both ways (which they will call for). I am very pleased with this hotel and will return again.

"Nice location - poor service"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   JJ J. of Batavia, United States
Reviewed:   July 26, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Out of the 3 nights we stayed, the rooms were only cleaned once and only after we begged repeatedly. We couldn't even get replacement towels!

"good stay"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Randall M. of Heredia, United States
Reviewed:   May 13, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
accomodation was good for an affordable price.

"Good location, but..."

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Carol K. of Redlands, CA, United States
Reviewed:   April 6, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a recent trip to Costa Rica. The location is in a great spot away from the city, up the in mountains a little which makes it a little cooler. We did 3 day trips from there: Poas volcano, downtown San Jose, and Cartago. The hotel was a bit run-down. We only had maid service 1 of the days. The sheets on the king size bed had a hole in them. The breakfast buffet was standard: rice, eggs, fried bananas, bread, 2 of the days we had fruit. We ate dinner there 1 night & it was adequate. I would probably not stay there again.

"great view, busy place...staff needs upgrade"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Christina C. of vilas, NC, United States
Reviewed:   March 3, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2010     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
this was a good place for families, as there were lots of fun things for young people to do....zip line, pool, 4-wheelers, etc......so therefore it was packed and noisy on the week-end....there was also a couples thing going on, so the main restaurant was open for only the couples dance. The hot-tub was filthy from all the kids (used for a bathroom), and it took two days to empty it, repair it and re-fill it. when I arrived on the first of four nights, I was re-assigned to a cabin in the woods...it was an "upgrade", but I did not need 4 beds and a fireplace...and It was the last cabin down a long path in a jungle. It was dark, had a broken fridge, and I only got hot water one time in three nights. On the fourth day, I asked them to give me a single room with the view I was originaly expecting, and they did and it was MUCH better. I was able to take a hot shower, get internet access, and sit outside on my porch. The more casual restaurant, next to the pool, was always dirty. I left a beer bottle on the table the first night, and It stayed there for 24 hours...as did other peoples coffee cups, etc. It appeared the tables were rarely cleaned....Coffee was ready at 7:30....as was a very expensive breakfast (exactly the same buffet every day)..no cream no butter...the most expensive breakfast I had during my entire month long stay in Costa Rica ($10.)...It was a very busy place, and had lots to do, but not well-maintained.

"Budget hotel surrounded by the rain forest"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Julie C. of Orlando, United States
Reviewed:   November 25, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great location in the middle of the rain forest and high up so great views. Beautiful flowers in the grounds. Rooms were clean but basic and only two towels were provided. Good internet if you ask to be put in a room with good reception ( ours was excellent). Staff were friendly. Clean and nicely landscaped pool and jacuzzi which did not get very hot. Basic breakfast served daily in the pool restaurant, nice and beans, scrambled egg, pancakes and fruit. This can be included for a few dollars extra. Evening meals served in the bar/restaurant which has great views and a fireplace. Food was not cordon bleu but was OK and good value for money.

Basically dont expect luxury but is a good value for money place to stay in a good location.

"A jewel in the mountains of Heredia."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jude L. of Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewed:   November 17, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past year in a half. My business takes me quite often to various Latin American countries and whenever I fly to Costa Rica , peace, tranquility away from the city , without the lost of quality and professionalism is what I seek from a hotel.

Quality Hotel Monte Campana has been excellent in it's originality and in giving me the real Costa Rican Experience.

In this particular trip I purposely sought to meet the owner to congratulate him on a job well done. This time I brought my son and daughter for a visit of the new canopy and waterfall that they had just installed in their forest . It was awesome! Mr. Alex Castro Forbes , the owner, turnout to be a down to earth gentleman (tico) who lived in the US for over 42 years and then returned home to design his own interpretation of a great trip in the form of this hotel. VERY NICE GUY! Try to meet him when you're visiting. The staff was very pleasant. The rooms reflected the country experience that I sought to bring calmness even though I was only 30 minutes from San Jose. I could go on and on with the review, but to make a long story short.... I WAS VERY SATISFIED WITH BOTH THE HOTEL AND IT"S PERSONNEL AS WELL AS THE RESERVATION SERVICE!

"Honeymoon Heaven"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Paul A. of San Francisco, United States
Reviewed:   July 26, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2009     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I loved the place. Super quiet and nice. It was great being in the middle of the rain forest. We went rappelling everyday for free just because they where being nice. We stayed for 3 weeks and went to day tours about every other day. There was plenty to do in the area to keep from getting board.
Rafting
Hiking
Rappelling
to the beach
Monte Verde
Jaco beach
Poas Volcano

We had a jacuzzi in our room that overlooked the central valley.
I paid $88 for my room. Best deal in Costa Rica and breakfast was included. Not to mention the rappelling at the natural waterfalls.

The staff is top notch and they mostly spoke English

"Just Perfect"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Charles S. of Coloradi, United States
Reviewed:   July 15, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I wanted to surprise my wife and Monte Campana was the perfect scenario for it. We truly enjoy it. Everything was beyond my imagination. I recommend it.


1 - 10 of 24 reviews  Next 10 results




CentralAmericaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us